Library and Learning Resources


DATABASES

Students and staff have access to the wide variety of databases listed below.  Most databases can be accessed from all campuses. Where this varies the details are given in the Access column. 

 "Athens login" indicates that an Athens personal account is required for access. Further details of the Athens system is available here. Other username/password details can be obtained by contacting the Library enquiry desk by email library@paisley.ac.uk or telephone (0141-848-3759.

SFX enabled This image indicates that the resource has been enabled to work with SFX. More information on this is available from the SFX Frequently Asked Questions

Titles which are on CD-ROM are available from Enquiry desk staff. The CD-ROMs in this list are not available for use off-campus.

Database Access
ACM Portal (Association for Computing Machinery)  On campus only. No password required 
ACS (American Chemical Society) ejournal collection On campus only. No password required 
AIP (physics) On campus only. No password required 
Arts & Humanities Citation Index  SFX enabled 1975-  is a multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals On and off campus. Athens login
Assia (social sciences) SFX enabled
Assia (Off-campus Athens link)
On and off campus. No password required on campus. Athens login off campus.
BCIS Review Online  (Building Cost Information) On campus only. Contact university library for password
BioMed Central Free access to peer-reviewed biomedical research. On and off campus, No password required. Free registration required for searching.
Blackwell Synergy Ejournal collection On and off campus. No password required for on-campus access. Athens login for off-campus access
BMJ Clinical Evidence On and off campus. Athens login.
BOPCAS (official publications)   On and off campus. Contact university library for password
Bristol Biomedical Image Archive On and off campus. Athens login
Cambridge Journals  On campus only. No password required 
Census Resources   
ChildData   On and off campus. No password required for on-campus access. Athens login for off-campus access
Cinahl Plus with full-text Nursing and Allied Health (provides full text for more than 560 journals indexed in CINAHL) SFX enabled
Cinahl off-campus link
On and off campus. No password required for on-campus access. Athens login for off-campus access
Classical Music Library On campus only. No password required 
Cochrane Library   On and off campus. No password required

Construction Information Service

On and off campus. Athens login
N.B. If downloading British Standards please inform library staff of the BS Numbers. 
Dictionary of Analytical Reagents   Paisley Campus CD-ROM
Directory of Open Access Journals Free access to over 700 journals covering all subjects.
EBSCO Health Source: Nursing Academic Edition  SFX enabled
EBSCO: off-campus link
On and off campus. No password required on-campus. Athens login off-campus.
EBSCO Psychology and Behavioral Science Collection SFX enabled
EBSCO: off-campus link
On and off campus. No password required on-campus. Athens login off-campus.
EBSCO SocINDEX SFX enabled
EBSCO: off-campus link
On and off campus. No password required on-campus. Athens login off-campus.
Education-Line On and off campus
No password required.
Emerald

Emerald: off-campus link

On and off campus. No password required on-campus. Athens login off-campus.
ERIC (education) On and off campus. No password required.
Expanded Academic File SFX enabled

Expanded Academic File: off-campus link

On and off campus. No password required on-campus. Athens login off-campus.
Factiva.com - Global news and business information (30-day trial from 19/4/07) On campus only. No password required
Facts About Britain 1945-95  Paisley Campus CD-ROM 
Family Spending 1989-95  Paisley Campus CD-ROM 
Film and Sound Online On and off campus. Athens login
Film Index International On and off campus. No password required for on-campus access. Athens login for off-campus access
Frankfurter Allgemeine   On and off campus
Free Registration required (see library staff for details)
Free Full Text Links to over 7000 scholarly periodicals which allow some or all of their online content to be viewed by ANYONE with Internet access for free On and off campus. No password required.
Fuel and Energy Abstracts Access on and off campus. No password required on campus. Athens login off campus
General Business File  SFX enabled

General Business File: off-campus link

On and off campus. No password required on-campus. Athens login off-campus.
Hansard 1988/89- On and off campus
No password required
HEBS now NHS Health Scotland  On and off campus. No password required
Index to Theses On campus only. No password required
IngentaConnect On and off campus. Athens login
Institute of Physics  On campus only. No password required
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) 1951- SFX enabled On and off campus. Athens login
International Journal of Rock Mechanics and Mining Science and Geomechanics Abstracts On and off campus. No password required on campus. Athens login off campus.
Intermid (British Journal of Midwifery) On and off campus. Athens login
Internurse Athens login required.
IOS Press Computer science, mathematics, medicine, natural science journals (trial access until 12/8/07) On campus only. No password required
ISI Proceedings - Science & Technology SFX enabled 1990- covers the conference literature in all scientific and technical fields On and off campus. Athens login
ISI Proceedings - Social Science & Humanities SFX enabled 1990- covers the conference literature in all fields of social science & arts and humanities On and off campus. Athens login
ISI Web of Knowledge SFX enabled On and off campus. Athens login
Kaye & Laby Tables of Physical and Chemical Constants 16th ed On and off campus. No password required
Keesings Record of World Events 1983-1992  Paisley Campus CD-ROM
Learning Exchange (Scottish Institute for Excellence in Social Work Education) Repository of digital learning resources for social care educators On and off campus. Athens login
Life Sciences Collection 1986-2001  Paisley Campus CD-ROM
LISTA (Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts) SFX enabled On and off campus. No password required
McGraw-Hill Multimedia Encyclopedia of Science & Technology  8th ed Paisley Campus CD-ROM
Maternity and Infant Care (formerly MIDIRS) SFX enabled On and off campus. Athens login
Mintel Market Research Reports   On and off campus. Athens login.
Mosby Medical Encyclopedia  University Campus Ayr CD-ROM
National Research Register On and off campus
No password required
Newsbank Newspapers UK

NewsBank: off-campus link

On and off campus. No password required for on-campus access. Athens login for off-campus access
NHS Health Scotland (formerly HEBS) On and off campus. No password required
Nineteenth Century House of Commons Parliamentary Papers On and off campus. No password required for on-campus access. Athens login for off-campus access
Oxford Reference Online - Core Collection On campus only. No password required.
Oxford University Press Journals On and off campus. No password required for on-campus access. Athens login for off-campus access
Proquest Nursing Journals 

Proquest Nursing Journals: off-campus link

On and off campus
No password required for on-campus access
Athens login for off-campus access
PsycBOOKS

PsycBOOKS - off campus link

On and off campus. No password required on-campus. Athens login off-campus.
PsycCRITIQUES (from APANet)
 
On campus only. No password required.
PsycINFO SFX enabled

PsycINFO - off-campus link  

On and off campus. No password required on-campus. Athens login off-campus.
PubMed On and off campus. No password required
Regional Trends 1965-1995  Paisley Campus CD-ROM 
Royal Society of Chemistry Journals On campus only. No password required
Science Citation Index Expanded SFX enabled 1970- a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences. It fully indexes 5,900 major journals across 150 scientific disciplines On and off campus. Athens login
ScienceDirect   On and off campus. No password required on-campus. Athens login off-campus.
ScotBis Scottish Business Information from the National Library of Scotland. On and off campus. Athens login.
Scots Law Times Reports 1893-1995   Paisley Campus CD-ROM
Contact university library for password.
SCRAN (A searchable archive of Scotland's history and culture) On and off campus. Athens login
Screen Online (British Film Institute). Provides access to thousands of video images, sound extracts, still photographs, time lines and essays relating to the history of British film and television. Available only on PCs in the Library at UCA. Log in to the student network and click on the icon on the desktop for Screen Online. Headphones are available from the Library counter
SIAM Journals (Society for Industrial & Applied Mathematics)  On campus only. No password required
Social Care Online UK's most complete range of information and research on all aspects of social care On and off campus. No password required.
Social Sciences Citation Index SFX enabled 1970- is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences. It fully indexes more than 1,725 journals across 50 social sciences disciplines On and off campus. Athens login.
Social Trends 1970-95   Paisley Campus CD-ROM
Social work research and abstracts On and off campus. No password required for on-campus access. Athens login for off-campus access
Springerlink On and off campus. No password required for on-campus access. For off-campus access contact university library for password.
Stanford Encyclopedia of  Philosophy (SEP) On and off campus. No password required
Statistical Accounts of Scotland (historical data from the 1790s and 1830s) On and off campus. Athens login
Swets  

Swets: off-campus link

On and off campus. No password required on-campus. Athens login off-campus.
Taylor & Francis Journals On and off campus. No password required on-campus. Athens login off-campus.
TRILT Television and Radio Index for Learning and Teaching- listings and archive of broadcast programme information  On and off campus. Athens login
TVTimes Project 1955-1985  Provides unique access to the listings of the London Edition of the TVTimes from September 1955 – March 1985. On and off campus. Athens login
Web of Knowledge SFX enabled On and off campus. Athens login
Westlaw UK Primary/secondary law and current awareness service for UK legal, regulatory and academic markets On and off campus. Athens login
Who's Who 1897-1996 Paisley Campus CD-ROM 
Wiley InterScience Journals On and off campus. No password required on-campus. Athens login off-campus.
Zetoc  SFX enabled (Table of contents of over 20,000 research journals)  On and off campus. Athens login