Library and Learning Resources


Library Guide to Engineering

Printable version of the Library Guide to Engineering (Word document)

Planning a Literature Search

Define your topic

Decide precisely what your topic should be. If you are not sure, consult an encyclopedia or a relevant textbook to get some idea of the topic and the terminology used.

Decide on a time limit, for example, are you only interested in material published in the last 5 years ?

Is there a geographical limit? Is material from the United States or other European countries relevant?

Sources to be consulted

Prepare a list of relevant sources to be consulted. These should include abstracts, indexes, the Internet and CD-ROM databases.

Keywords

Choose your keywords carefully. You may want to include broader terms, narrower terms and synonyms. Your topic may have several relevant keywords.

Be aware of British and American spelling.

Consider word endings when carrying out a keyword search on electronic resources. Many allow truncation of keywords, however truncation symbols can vary from database to database. Those most commonly used are, *, ?, or $. For example, searching construct* would retrieve terms for construction, constructed, constructor etc.

Record references found

A note should be made of each reference found, or a printout taken if you are carrying out your literature search using an online or CD-ROM database. Remember to include full bibliographic details of the citation, these will be required when preparing your list of references.

Allow enough time

Give your self enough time when searching abstracts, indexes, CD-ROMs, the Internet etc Some extra time may also be needed to obtain material on inter-library loan or from other libraries.


Finding Books in the Library

Each book in the library is given a Dewey Decimal classification number (class number) which represents the subject of the book. Books are arranged on the shelves according to these numbers so that books on the same subject are shelved together.

To find the appropriate class number for a subject or book use the library's computerised catalogue or OPAC (Online Public Access Catalogue). This can be used to search for keywords, authors, titles, and so on. Full details of how to search the catalogue are given on-line. Help with using the catalogue is available from the Enquiry desk, located on the second floor of the library.

The OPAC uses the web-based TALIS system and can be accessed from dedicated terminals around the library, or via the Library website (http://library.paisley.ac.uk). The OPAC can also be accessed direct on the Internet at http://libserv.paisley.ac.uk/www-bin/www_talis32

At the Paisley campus library the books are separated into subject groupings by floor. The main subject areas are grouped as follows:

2nd floor: management, economics, computing, mathematics, languages, literature
3rd floor south: social sciences, health, government publications, statistics
3rd floor north: engineering, sciences

It is also possible to check the catalogues of other local university libraries. Paisley students may use the facilities of most local academic libraries. To access local library catalogues follow the link to Academic Libraries in the Glasgow area,  or choose the UK HE Opacs - by region option for access to Scottish or UK academic library catalogues at http://www.hero.ac.uk/niss/niss_library4008.cfm


Classification Numbers

The library stock is classified according to the Dewey Decimal Classification Scheme, books are then shelved in the library using these numbers. Some relevant Dewey classification numbers are:

Subject  Shelfmark
Geology, hydrology, meteorology 551
Hydrology  551.48
   
Technical drawing  604.2
   
Design, testing, measurement, quality, maintenance, repair  620.004
engineering design 620.0042
computer applications, computer-aided design (CAD) 620.00420285
engineering testing and measurement 620.0044
engineering reliability 620.00452
Engineering mechanics and materials 620.1
applied fluid mechanics 620.106
Engineering materials 620.11
properties and testing of materials 620.112
mechanics of materials 620.1123
fracture mechanics  620.1126
nondestructive testing 620.1127
composite materials 620.118
cement  620.135
concrete 620.135
Sound and related vibrations – acoustical engineering 620.2
Mechanical vibration 620.3
Human factors engineering 620.82
   
Applied physics – mechanical engineering 621
Electrical engineering 621.3
generation, modification, storage 621.312
control devices 621.317
transmission –electrification 621.319
networks (circuitry and lines) 621.3192
Applied optics and paraphotic technology 621.36
Electronics – microelectronics 621.381
microwave electronics 621.3813
components and circuits 621.3815
semiconductors 621.38152
Communications engineering 621.382
signal processing 621.3822
radio and radar 621.384
television  621.388
Computer engineering 621.39
computer circuitry (VLSI) 621.395
Nuclear engineering 621.48
Vacuum technology  621.55
Machine engineering 621.8
   
Civil engineering - construction 624
Structural engineering 624.1
engineering geology 624.151
rock and soil mechanics 624.1513
structural analysis and design 624.17
materials – design and construction 624.18
   
Engineering of railways and roads 625
   
Hydraulic engineering 627
   
Sanitary engineering – environmental engineering 628
Water supply 628.1
Sewage treatment and disposal 628.3
Waste technology  628.4
Pollution control technology 628.5
   
Transport engineering 629.04
Aerospace engineering 629.1
aeronautics 629.13
Motor vehicles 629.2
Automatic control engineering 629.8
control theory 629.8312
computer control  629.89
robots 629.892
computerized process control 629.895
   
Manufacturing  670
computer applications 670.285
computer-aided design/computer-aided manufacture (CAD/CAM) 670.285
computer integrated manufacturing systems (CIM) 670.285
mechanization and automation 670.427
computer-aided manufacture (CAM) 670.427
   
Metalworking  671
   
Manufacture of products 680
Testing, measurement, sensing instruments 681.2
Technological equipment 681.76
pressure vessels 681.76041
   
Buildings – planning, construction, engineering design 690
Building materials 691
Estimates – time, labour, materials – quantity surveying 692.5
Masonry 693.1
Utilities 696
 Heating, ventilating, air-conditioning engineering 697
   
Architecture 720
Area planning – plans 728

Finding Periodicals in the library

Periodicals or journals (either term can be used) held by the library are listed alphabetically in the printed periodicals catalogue, which is available at the 2nd floor Enquiry desk. The periodicals catalogue lists where printed and electronic journals (journals accessed on CD-ROM or online via the Internet) can be found in the library. Electronic journals are also listed on the Library website in the Resources section (http://library.paisley.ac.uk/resources/resindex.htm)

Current issues of each printed journal are displayed in the current periodicals display area, located on the third floor south. Back issues are classified and shelved by subject in the same way as books. If in any doubt about where to find a particular issue of a journal please ask at the Enquiry desk. All issues of printed periodicals can be borrowed except the current issue which is available for reference only.

Electronic journals can be accessed on CD-ROM, issued from the Enquiry desk for use in the Electronic resources area on the 2nd floor of the library, or online via the Internet through the Library website. Many of these journals are also available for remote, off campus, access via any Internet connection using individual usernames and passwords. Ask at the Enquiry desk for details of these services.

Finding Articles in Periodicals

To find articles on a particular subject when you don't already have a reference to a particular periodical, or in order to carry out a wider search not limited to journals held by the library you would use the electronic databases available on CD-ROM or via the Internet. These databases index the contents of journals in a particular subject area, and allow you to search for specific topics within that particular subject area. These subject databases give references to journal articles: author(s), title and details about the source journal the article was published in. Most databases also include a brief summary or abstract describing the content of the article. These databases, and the printed resources they replaced, are known as abstracting and indexing services.

Most electronic journals also allow subject searching. To search the electronic journals access the journals' publisher sites via the eJournals services link on the Library website.

A list of relevant subject databases, and how to access them, can be found in the abstracting and indexing, electronic journals and Internet sections of this guide.

Journal articles, or other material, not held by the Library may be available through inter-library loans. Ask at the Enquiry desk (2nd floor) or Inter-Library Loans counter (3rd floor south) about this service.

Periodicals

Listed below is a selection of journals relevant to engineering. Beside each journal is a note of where the journal can be accessed, either a shelfmark in the library or the electronic journal service site or CD-ROM. Remember a comprehensive list of journals is available at the main Enquiry desk in the library.

Title  Journal service Shelfmark
International Journal of Engineering Science  ScienceDirect  
CAD User    620.004205
Computer-Aided Design ScienceDirect  
Research in Engineering Design SpringerLink 620.004205
Journal of Engineering Mechanics   620.1005
Acta Materialia ScienceDirect  
Advanced Materials and Processes Exp. Academic 620.1105
Journal of Engineering Materials and Technology   620.1105
Corrosion Science    
International Journal of Fatigue  ScienceDirect 620.112305
International Journal of Fracture  NESLI 620.112605
Theoretical and Applied Fracture Mechanics ScienceDirect  
Journal of Nondestructive Evaluation NESLI   
Applied Composite Materials  NESLI   
Composite Structures ScienceDirect 620.11805
Composites Part B: Engineering  ScienceDirect  
Cement and Concrete Research ScienceDirect 620.13505
Ceramics International ScienceDirect  
Applied Acoustics  ScienceDirect 620.205
Noise Control Engineering Journal   620.2305
Applied Ergonomics ScienceDirect 620.8205
     
Journal of Energy Engineering   621.04205
Journal of Applied Mechanics   621.05
IEEE Spectrum   621.305
International Journal of Electrical Engineering   621.3071105
Power Engineering Journal    621.3105
Applied Optics and Optical Engineering    621.3605
IEEE Transactions on Image Processing    621.36705
Electronic Design Exp. Academic  
IEE Proceedings: Optoelectronics    621.38104505
IEEE Transactions on Consumer Electronics   621.38105
Microelectronic Engineering  ScienceDirect  
Microelectronics Journal   ScienceDirect 621.38105
Microelectronics Reliability  ScienceDirect  
IEE Proceedings: Circuits, Devices and Systems    621.381505
Semiconductor Science and Technology    621.3815205
IEE Proceedings: Communications    621.38205
Computers and Electrical Engineering ScienceDirect  
IEEE Transactions on Signal Processing    621.382205
Signal Processing  ScienceDirect  
Signal Processing: Image Communication ScienceDirect  
Optics and Lasers in Engineering  ScienceDirect  
Optical Fiber Technology  ScienceDirect  
Integration, the VLSI Journal   ScienceDirect  
Computer Speech and Language ScienceDirect 621.39905
Nuclear Engineering and Design  ScienceDirect  
Cryogenics  ScienceDirect  
     
Mechanical Engineering - CIME Exp. Academic 624.05
New Civil Engineer   624.05
Structural Survey    Emerald 624.105
Ground Engineering   624.15105
Quarterly Journal of Engineering Geology   624.15105
Journal of Cold Regions Engineering   624.1513605
Computers and Structures  ScienceDirect 624.1028505
Structural Safety ScienceDirect  
Concrete International    624.183405
Journal of Bridge Engineering   624.205
     
Highways and Transportation    625.705
     
Journal of Hydraulic Engineering   627.05
     
Journal of Environmental Engineering   628.05
Water Research  ScienceDirect 628.16805
Waste Management  ScienceDirect  
Waste Management & Research  ScienceDirect  
     
Journal of Aerospace Engineering    629.105
IEE Proceedings: Control Theory and Applications   629.805
IEEE Transactions on Control Systems Technology   629.805
International Journal of Control    629.805
Computing and Control Engineering Journal   629.8905
International Journal of Robotics Research   629.89205
Robotica  Cambridge 629.89205
     
Computer Integrated Manufacturing Systems  ScienceDirect 670.28505
Int. Journal of Advanced  Manufacturing Technology SpringerLink 670.28505
Journal of Intelligent Manufacturing NESLI   
     
Building   690.05
Building and Environment  ScienceDirect 690.05
Building Design and Construction  Exp. Academic  
Construction and Building Materials  ScienceDirect  
BCIS Quarterly Review of Building Prices   692.5
     
Planning  Exp. Academic 711.05
Progress in Planning  ScienceDirect 711.05
     
Architectural Technology   720.5
Architects Journal    720.5
Building Engineer    720.5
Journal of Architectural Engineering   720.5

Electronic Journals Services

Electronic Journals services usually combine an abstract/indexing service with access to full-text journals. The services are usually provided by academic journal publishers and tend to specialise in particular subject areas. They can be searched like abstracting and indexing databases but also allow journal contents browsing like a print journal. The main electronic journals services for engineering  are:

Emerald (Electronic Management Research Library)

Data Type: Full text, bibliographic, with abstracts

Format: Internet
Holdings: Full text 1994 - current,
1989 - 1993 bibliographic, with abstracts
Location: URL: http://www.emeraldinsight.com/ft
Access: Off-campus use requires an Athens account. Please ask at the Enquiry desk for details

Description: Emerald is a database of management journals, full-text from 1994 onwards. Although primarily a business and management resource, Emerald does contain articles on engineering. The database can be searched for specific topics or browsed by subject area.

Expanded Academic File (Infotrac)

Data Type: Full text, bibliographic, with abstracts
Format: Internet
Location: URL: http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/unipais?db=EIM
Access: An Athens personal account is required for off-campus use

Description: The Expanded Academic File database is one of the three Infotrac databases. Infotrac contains nearly 1600 full text journals from a range of disciplines including engineering.

Ingenta Journals

Data Type: Full text, bibliographic, with abstracts
Format: Internet
Location: URL: http://www.ingenta.com
Access: An Athens personal account is required

Description: Ingenta Journals is the full-text electronic journals service offered by BIDS (the Bath Information and Data Services). Ingenta provides access to more than 450 academic journals over a range of subject disciplines. The database allows searching through journal articles by journal title or by using the alphabetical journal listing. Ingenta allows browsing through journal issues and lists journals by subject and subject sub-category. There are also links to journals available through Emerald (MCB University Press) and ScienceDirect.

Institution of Civil Engineers (ICE)

Data type: Full text, bibliographic with abstracts
Format: Internet
Holdings: Full text 1998 - current, archive under construction
Location: URL: http://www.thomastelford.com/jol/
Access: Username and password required. Contact University Library enquiry desk for details.
Use Internet Explorer only

Description: The ICE database is a specialist civil engineering resource. The database provides access to the publications of the Institution of Civil Engineers. The database provides full text access to all ICE journals from 1998 onwards. Parts of the ICE site are under construction but promise a full text publications archive covering the years 1836-2002. The journals can be searched for a particular topic, or browsed by issue using a pull down menu. Access requires the user to login using the username and password provided. The database can also be accessed off campus.

Swets

Data type: Full-text, bibliographic, with abstracts
Format: Internet
Location: URL: http://www.swetswise.com
Access: Access off-campus requires an Athens username and password.

Description: Swets provides full-text online access to journals published by Blackwell Science and Kluwer Academic publishers. This includes a number of engineering titles. The journals are listed alphabetically and in broad subject groupings. Engineering titles are listed under the ‘Technology’ subject heading. You can search the Swets journal service for articles within the journals or browse the table of contents of issues of a journal. 

ScienceDirect

Data Type: Full text, bibliographic, with abstracts
Format: Internet
Location: URL: http://www.sciencedirect.com
Access: An Athens personal account is required for off-campus use

Description: The ScienceDirect database gives access to abstracts from nearly 3,000 journals and full-text access to over 1,000 titles, giving bibliographic access to nearly 2 million journal articles. The main subject areas covered are in science, engineering and medicine. The database lists computer science among the main subject headings. The database allows searching through journal articles, by journal title or by using the alphabetical journal listing, allows browsing through journal issues and lists journals by subject and subject sub-category.

Springer Link

Data Type: Full text, bibliographic, with abstracts
Format: Internet
Location: URL: http://www.springerlink.com
Access: UserID and password available, ask at Enquiry desk for details

Description: Link is the internet service of the science publisher Springer. The database can be searched or journal articles may be browsed by issue. Subjects are also grouped into Online Libraries, one of which is computer science. Most journals are full-text. Other services within the Link include browsing the content pages of Springer book titles and sample pages from books.

Wiley InterScience

Data type: Full text, bibliographic with abstracts
Format: Internet
Holdings: Full text 1996 - for subscribed titles, abstracts
Location: URL: http://www3.interscience.wiley.com/journalfinder.html
Access: Available on campus only

Description: InterScience is the online resource of John Wiley & Sons. InterScience specialises in scientific, technical, medical and professional journals. The database lists engineering as one of the main subject areas. The database allows journals to be searched or browsed like a print journal. Subscribed titles are full text from 1996 onwards, with abstracts available for other years and titles.

Athens accounts

Many of the electronic journal services, abstracting and indexing services and other databases require the use of an Athens personal account. An Athens personal account provides a username and password, which allow the personal account holder to access the Library’s subscribed services both on and off campus. Every enrolled student and all members of staff are entitled to an Athens account. An Athens account should automatically be created for students upon enrolment. Members of staff should apply to the relevant Subject Librarian to have an account set up for them.

Once an Athens account has been obtained the relevant services may be accessed through the Library Web site, by logging in to the personal account through the Athens Web site (http://www.athens.ac.uk ) or by accessing the databases directly. Some Athens authenticated services ask for a username and password only for external (off campus) access, others require a login for on campus use as well. Please consult the online list of electronic journals and databases if in doubt as to whether an Athens account or other authentication is required, or ask at the library Enquiry desk.


Abstracting and Indexing Resources

ASCE Annual Combined Index

Data Type: Bibliographic
Format: Printed volumes
Coverage: 1981 -
Updated: Annually
Location: 3rd Floor North Reference section
Shelfmark: REF 624.05

Description: Produced by ASCE (American Society of Civil Engineers), the Index provides bibliographic references to all ASCE publications. References are grouped alphabetically by subject area.

BCIS Review Online

Data Type: Price indexes
Format: Internet
Coverage: Current
Location: URL: http://service.bcis.co.uk
Access: Contact Library for details

Description: The Building Cost Information Service is one of the information services of the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors. The service aims to provide current, accurate information on UK building costs and tender prices.

BSI (British Standards Institution) Electronic Catalogue

Data Type: Bibliographic
Format: Internet 
URL: http://bsonline.techindex.co.uk

Description: The BSI Electronic Catalogue and British Standards Online provide information on all British Standards publications.

Concrete Quarterly

Data Type: Full-text
Format: CD-ROM
Holdings: 1947 - 1999
Location: Electronic Resources area

Description: Produced by the British Cement Association. The 4 CD-ROM set comprises issue 1 - 1947 to issue 190 -1999 of the Concrete Quarterly.

Construction Information Service (CIS)

Data Type: Full-text, bibliographic
Format: Internet
Updated: Weekly
Location: URL: http://www.info4education.co.uk/
Access: Athens personal account

Description: Published by Technical Indexes (ti) the CIS database contains the full-text of technical publications by the BSI (British Standards Institute), Building Research Establishment and other bodies. The database covers construction and the construction industry, building and engineering design. The subscription covers the core service – construction, as well as the building, civil & structural engineering and mechanical & electrical engineering supplements. The database can be searched by document number, issuing body or keywords. For copyright reasons when copying British Standards please inform the Library enquiry desk of the number and part of the standard copied and number of pages copied from the standard.

International Building Services Abstracts

Data Type: Bibliographic, with abstracts
Format: Printed volumes
Coverage: 1978 - 1998
Location: 3rd Floor North Reference section
Shelfmark: REF 696.05

Description: Produced by the Building Services Research and Information Association (BSRIA). International Building Services Abstracts provides abstracts of journal articles, conference proceedings, books and other literature on the mechanical and electrical services of buildings. Abstracts are grouped by subject area.

Inspec

Data Type: Bibliographic, with abstracts
Format: CD-ROM
Holdings: 1991 - 1997
Location: Electronic Resources area

Description: Inspec contains abstracts and indexing from over 4,000 journals, over 1,000 conference proceedings, books, reports and dissertations covering physics, electrical engineering, electronics, computers and information technology.

McGraw-Hill Multimedia Encyclopedia of Science and Technology

Data Type: Full-text
Format: CD-ROM
Holdings: Current, 8th edition
Location: Electronic Resources area

Description: The Encyclopedia of Science and Technology contains definitions of scientific and technical terms and articles with animation and graphics. Subject areas covered include civil engineering, computers, design engineering, electrical engineering, mechanical engineering and telecommunications.

 


Reference Material

All reference material is for consultation in the library only. Reference material can be found on the appropriate subject floor of the main library. Engineering reference material is located on the 3rd floor north of the main library. All reference material has REF prefixing the classification number on the catalogue. Some useful reference books in engineering are:

Title  Shelfmark
Gerrish’s technical dictionary REF 600
The Blackwell encyclopedia of industrial archaeology REF 609
   
McGraw-Hill dictionary of engineering REF 620
Esbach’s handbook of engineering fundamentals REF 620
Dictionary of engineering acronyms and abbreviations REF 620.00148
Encyclopedia of materials science and engineering REF 620.11
   
Mark’s standard handbook for mechanical engineers REF 621
The electrical engineering handbook REF 621.3
Electrical engineering materials reference guide REF 621.3
Electrical engineer’s reference book REF 621.3
Encyclopedia of lasers and optical technology REF 621.366
McGraw-Hill electronics dictionary REF 621.38
Electronics engineer’s reference REF 621.38
Penguin dictionary of electronics REF 621.381
Encyclopedia of electronic circuits REF 621.3815
Newnes radio and electronics engineer’s pocket book REF 621.384
   
Spon’s quarry guide  REF 622
   
The Penguin dictionary of civil engineering REF 624
The civil engineering handbook REF 624
Structural engineering handbook REF 624
Civil engineering calculations reference guide REF 624
Spon’s civil engineering and highway works price guide REF 624.0299
Conceptual cost estimating manual REF 624.068
Dictionary of geotechnics REF 624.151
Structural steel designer’s handbook REF 624.1821
   
McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of environmental science and engineering  REF 628
   
Concise international encyclopedia of robotics REF 629.892
   
Tool and manufacturing engineers handbook REF 670
Encyclopedic dictionary of industrial technology REF 670
   
The Penguin dictionary of building REF 690
Spon’s architects and builders price guide REF 690.0299
Construction health and safety manual REF 690.22
   
HVAC engineer’s handbook  REF 697
   
Encyclopedia of architectural terms REF 721.01

Other Sources

Theses and Dissertations

Completed theses in the UK and Ireland are listed, with abstracts, in the Aslib Index to Theses accepted for Higher Degrees. The printed index is held in the 2nd floor reference section, REF 011.7505. The index covers theses published from 1950 onwards and is arranged by subject with author and keyword indexes. Index to Theses is also on the Internet (http://www.theses.com). The online version covers 1970 onwards. Theses can be obtained as Inter Library Loans (ILLs). 

The ILL desk is located on the 3rd floor south in the library. Theses and dissertations completed in the University of Paisley are listed on the library catalogue (OPAC) and in print catalogues held at the main counter on the ground floor of the library.

Conferences

New research is often presented as papers read at a conference. These are often published as Conference Proceedings. Conference proceedings are usually published collectively, as a book of the proceedings of a particular conference, or individually as papers in journals. References to conference proceedings can be found in the Index of Conference Proceedings, 2nd floor reference section, REF 060.5. The index is arranged alphabetically by subject area, most entries have a reference and abstract. The Index is produced by the British Library. All the items listed can be borrowed from the British Library through Inter Library Loans. References and abstracts to conference papers are also available on the Internet via the ISI Proceedings. This contains details of over 4000 conferences indexed annually. It is accessed through the ISI Web of Knowledge database (http://wok.mimas.ac.uk/) using an Athens account.

Reports

Reports are usually published by the organisation sponsoring or carrying out the work. Reports can be traced in British Reports, Translations and Theses, 2nd floor reference section, class number REF 011.7505.


Internet Sources

Many of the databases and journals already mentioned are available via the Internet. If you wish to do a general Internet search for a topic a list of useful search engines is available via the library website. Useful subject specific Internet resources can also be accessed from the General and Engineering options on the Recommended Internet Sites page on the Library website. Listed below are some relevant sites.

BUBL Link 5:15

Description: BUBL Link 5:15 is a catalogue of Internet resources covering all academic subject areas. Topics are grouped alphabetically and by subject area. Subject area headings include Engineering and Technology. Within these broad subject headings are more specific subject areas within the discipline eg electronics. Choose one of these subject areas to access the lists of academically evaluated Internet resources.

CIRIA (Construction Industry Research and Information Association)

Description: CIRIA is a UK based research association whose stated aim is to improve performance of all involved in construction and the environment. CIRIA lists five main areas of interest: environment, process, building and construction technology, ground engineering and water. The main function of CIRIA involves organizing collaborative research programmes in these areas.

EEVL (Edinburgh Engineering Virtual Library)

Description: The EEVL service is a database of sources of engineering, mathematics and computing information on the Internet. Search by topic or browse the subject resources. EEVL is an online academic engineering resource covering all aspects of engineering along with complementary subjects such as computing. EEVL provides its own extensive list of links to engineering Internet sites and has an e-journal search engine covering over 150 full-text electronic journals.

Emerald Abstracts: Civil Engineering Coolsites

Description: This service reviews, indexes and evaluates web sites of interest to civil engineering practitioners and academics. The sites are grouped under what they term as key areas of interest: construction management, environmental, geotechnical, hydraulic, structural and transport engineering and professional/educational matters.

Engineering Information Guide

Description: Produced by Strathclyde University’s CAD centre, the guide is an information resource guide focusing on the influence of design across engineering disciplines. The guide is divided into two sections. The first section is organised by discipline, the second section covers multi-disciplinary specialities.

Groundwater.com

Description: The Groundwater.com site is a directory of groundwater online resources. The site has information about news, jobs, publications, software, discussion groups etc all devoted to groundwater.

ICivilEngineer

Description: iCivilEngineer.com is a specialist Internet resource aimed at civil engineering professionals and students. The site aims to catalogue and collect Internet sites relevant to civil engineering. The site consists of four main areas: the news center, career center, tools center and resource center. These are largely self- explanatory, the resource center search engine indexes more than 15,000 web documents in the area of civil engineering.

UK Patent Office

Description: The UK governmental office dealing with patents, designs, trade marks and copyright.

Contact

If you have any questions regarding this subject resource guide please contact:
Sean Hamilton tel: 0141 849 4113
e-mail: hami-li1@paisley.ac.uk

Please note that the Enquiry desk, located in the Electronic Resources area, is staffed at all times. Please do not hesitate to ask for assistance.