Library and Learning Resources


Library Guide to Computing

Printable version of the Library Guide to Computing (Word document)

Planning a Literature Search

Define your topic

Decide precisely what your topic should be. If you are not sure, consult an encyclopedia or a relevant textbook to get some idea of the topic and the terminology used.

Decide on a time limit, for example, are you only interested in material published in the last 5 years ?

Is there a geographical limit? Is material from the United States or other European countries relevant?

Sources to be consulted

Prepare a list of relevant sources to be consulted. These should include abstracts, indexes, the Internet and CD-ROM databases.


Keywords

Choose your keywords carefully. You may want to include broader terms, narrower terms and synonyms. Your topic may have several relevant keywords.

Be aware of British and American spelling.

Consider word endings when carrying out a keyword search on electronic resources. Many allow truncation of keywords, however truncation symbols can vary from database to database. Those most commonly used are, *, ?, or $. For example, searching construct* would retrieve terms for construction, constructed, constructor etc.

Record references found

A note should be made of each reference found, or a printout taken if you are carrying out your literature search using an online or CD-ROM database. Remember to include full bibliographic details of the citation, these will be required when preparing your list of references.

Allow enough time

Give your self enough time when searching abstracts, indexes, CD-ROMs, the Internet etc Some extra time may
also be needed to obtain material on inter-library loan or from other libraries.


Finding Books in the Library

Each book in the library is given a Dewey Decimal classification number (class number) which represents the subject of the book. Books are arranged on the shelves according to these numbers so that books on the same subject are shelved together.

To find the appropriate class number for a subject or book use the library's computerised catalogue or OPAC (Online Public Access Catalogue). This can be used to search for keywords, authors, titles, and so on. Full details of how to search the catalogue are given on-line. Help with using the catalogue is available from the Enquiry desk, located on the second floor of the library.

The OPAC uses the web-based TALIS system and can be accessed from dedicated terminals around the library, or via the Library website (http://library.paisley.ac.uk). The OPAC can also be accessed direct on the Internet at http://libserv.paisley.ac.uk/www-bin/www_talis32

At the Paisley campus library the books are separated into subject groupings by floor. The main subject areas are grouped as follows:

2nd floor: management, economics, computing, mathematics, languages, literature
3rd floor south: social sciences, health, government publications, statistics
3rd floor north: engineering, sciences

It is also possible to check the catalogues of other local university libraries. Paisley students may use the facilities of most local academic libraries. To access local library catalogues follow the link to Academic Libraries in the Glasgow area,  or choose the UK HE Opacs - by region option for access to Scottish or UK academic library catalogues at http://www.hero.ac.uk/niss/niss_library4008.cfm


Classification Numbers

The library stock is classified according to the Dewey Decimal Classification Scheme, books are then shelved in the library using these numbers. Some relevant Dewey classification numbers are:

Subject  Shelfmark
Research 001.42
statistical methods 001.422
questionnaires, surveys 001.433
   
Systems - theory, analysis, design 003
computer modelling and simulation 003.3
theory of communication and control - bionics 003.5
   
Computer science - computer systems 004
computer mathematics 004.0151
human factors in computing  004.019
Specific types of computers 004.1
digital microcomputers - personal computers (PC's) 004.16
specific microcomputers/PC's 004.165
Systems analysis and design 004.21
Interfacing and communications 004.6
wide-area networks 004.67
internet  004.678
local-area networks 004.68
   
Computer programming, programs, data 005
programming - software engineering 005.1
object-oriented programming  005.117
software systems analysis and design - program design 005.12
programming languages 005.13
specific programming languages 005.133
testing, debugging 005.14
Programming for specific types of computers 005.2
programming for distributed computer systems 005.276
Computer programs - software 005.3
programs for microcomputers (PC's) 005.36
specific programs - software 005.369
Systems programming 005.42
Systems programs - operating systems 005.43
programming language translators - code generators 005.45
Data in computers, systems  005.7
data files and databases  005.74
specific data files and databases  005.75
network databases 005.754
relational databases 005.756
specific relational database management systems 005.7565
Data security 005.8
   
Virtual reality 006
Artificial intelligence  006.3
machine learning - inc. genetic algorithms  006.31
neural networks - neural computers  006.32
knowledge-based systems - expert systems  006.33
knowledge engineering  006.332
deduction, problem solving, reasoning  006.333
natural language processing  006.35
computer vision  006.37
Computer pattern recognition  006.4
optical pattern recognition - inc. bar coding  006.42
speech recognition  006.454
Computer graphics 006.6
3-D graphics 006.693
computer animation  006.696
Multimedia systems 006.7
   
Computer engineering 621.39
Computer control  629.89
robots 629.892
Computer games - computer applications  794.81
   
Writing 808.02
rhetoric in English 808.042
professional, technical literature 808.066

Finding Periodicals in the library

Periodicals or journals (either term can be used) held by the library are listed alphabetically in the printed periodicals catalogue, which is available at the 2nd floor Enquiry desk. The periodicals catalogue lists where printed and electronic journals (journals accessed on CD-ROM or online via the Internet) can be found in the library. Electronic journals are also listed on the Library website in the Resources section (http://library.paisley.ac.uk/resources/resindex.htm)

Current issues of each printed journal are displayed in the current periodicals display area, located on the third floor south. Back issues are classified and shelved by subject in the same way as books. If in any doubt about where to find a particular issue of a journal please ask at the Enquiry desk. All issues of printed periodicals can be borrowed except the current issue which is available for reference only.

Electronic journals can be accessed on CD-ROM, issued from the Enquiry desk for use in the Electronic resources area on the 2nd floor of the library, or online via the Internet through the Library website. Many of these journals are also available for remote, off campus, access via any Internet connection using individual usernames and passwords. Ask at the Enquiry desk for details of these services.

Finding Articles in Periodicals

To find articles on a particular subject when you don't already have a reference to a particular periodical, or in order to carry out a wider search not limited to journals held by the library you would use the electronic databases available on CD-ROM or via the Internet. These databases index the contents of journals in a particular subject area, and allow you to search for specific topics within that particular subject area. These subject databases give references to journal articles: author(s), title and details about the source journal the article was published in. Most databases also include a brief summary or abstract describing the content of the article. These databases, and the printed resources they replaced, are known as abstracting and indexing services.

Most electronic journals also allow subject searching. To search the electronic journals access the journals' publisher sites via the eJournals services link on the Library website.

A list of relevant subject databases, and how to access them, can be found in the abstracting and indexing, electronic journals and Internet sections of this guide.

Journal articles, or other material, not held by the Library may be available through inter-library loans. Ask at the Enquiry desk (2nd floor) or Inter-Library Loans counter (3rd floor south) about this service.

Periodicals

Listed below is a selection of journals relevant to computing science. Beside each journal is a note of where the journal can be accessed, either a shelfmark in the library or the electronic journal service site or CD-ROM. Remember a comprehensive list of journals is available at the main Enquiry desk in the library.

Title  Journal service Shelfmark
ACM Trans. on Computer-Human Interaction ACM  004.01905
ACM Computing Surveys ACM 004.05
ACM Transactions on Computer Systems ACM 004.05
Communications of the ACM ACM 004.05
Computer    004.05
Computer Journal Oxford 004.05
Journal of Information Technology   004.05
Journal of the ACM ACM 004.05
SIAM Journal on Computing  SIAM  004.05
Byte    004.1605
Journal of Network and Computer Applications Ingenta  004.1605
PC World  Exp. Academic  004.1605
Distributed Computing SpringerLink 004.3605
IEE Proceedings: Software   005.105
IEEE Software   005.105
Information and SoftwareTechnology  ScienceDirect 005.105
Science of Computer Programming ScienceDirect  
Journal of Logic Programming ScienceDirect  
Computer Languages ScienceDirect  
Software - Concepts & Tools SpringerLink  
ACM Transactions on Database Systems ACM 005.7405
Computer Networks ScienceDirect  
Distributed and Parallel Databases NESLI/Swets  
Computers & Security ScienceDirect  
Network Security ScienceDirect  
Artificial Intelligence in Engineering ScienceDirect 006.305
Artificial Intelligence Review NESLI/Swets 006.305
IEEE Transactions on Neural Networks   006.305
Soft computing - a Fusion of Foundations  SpringerLink 006.605
ACM Transactions on Graphics ACM  
Computers & Graphics ScienceDirect  
Visual Computer SpringerLink  
IEEE multimedia   006.605
Multimedia Systems  SpringerLink 006.605
Multimedia Tools and Applications  NESLI/Swets  

Electronic Journals Services

Electronic Journals services usually combine an abstract/indexing service with access to full-text journals. The services are usually provided by academic journal publishers and tend to specialise in particular subject areas. They can be searched like abstracting and indexing databases but also allow journal contents browsing like a print journal. The main electronic journals services for computing are:

ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) Digital Library

Data Type: Full text
Format : Internet
Holdings: Full text all years
Location: http://portal.acm.org/portal.cfm
Access: Only available on campus

Description: The ACM Digital Library is part of the ACM Portal. The library gives full-text access to all ACM publications as well those of some affiliated organizations. The type of publications offered include: journals, magazines, transactions, proceedings, newsletters and special interest groups (SIGs). The service covers approximately 200 ACM publications.

Emerald (Electronic Management Research Library)

Data Type: Full text, bibliographic, with abstracts
Format: Internet
Holdings: Full text 1994 - current,
1989 - 1993 bibliographic, with abstracts
Location: URL: http://www.emeraldinsight.com
Access: Off-campus use requires an Athens account
Please ask at the Enquiry desk for details

Description: Emerald is a database of management journals, full-text from 1994 onwards. Although primarily a business and management resource, Emerald does contain articles on information (computing) management. The database can be searched for specific topics or browsed by subject area.

Expanded Academic File (Infotrac)

Data Type: Full text, bibliographic, with abstracts
Format: Internet
Location: URL:
http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/unipais?db=EIM
Access: An Athens personal account is
required for off-campus use

Description: The Expanded Academic File database is one of the three Infotrac databases. Infotrac contains nearly 1600 full text journals from a range of disciplines including computing.

Ingenta Journals

Data Type: Full text, bibliographic, with
abstracts
Format: Internet
Location: URL: http://www.ingenta.com
Access: An Athens personal account is required

Description: Ingenta Journals is the full-text electronic journals service offered by BIDS (the Bath Information and Data Services). Ingenta provides access to more than 450 academic journals over a range of subject disciplines. The database allows searching through journal articles by journal title or by using the alphabetical journal listing. Ingenta allows browsing through journal issues and lists journals by subject and subject sub-category. There are also links to journals available through Emerald (MCB University Press) and ScienceDirect.

ScienceDirect

Data Type: Full text, bibliographic, with abstracts
Format: Internet
Location: URL: http://www.sciencedirect.com
Access: An Athens personal account is required for off-campus use

Description: The ScienceDirect database gives access to abstracts from nearly 3,000 journals and full-text access to over 1,000 titles, giving bibliographic access to nearly 2 million journal articles. The main subject areas covered are in science, engineering and medicine. The database lists computer science among the main subject headings. The database allows searching through journal articles, by journal title or by using the alphabetical journal listing, allows browsing through journal issues and lists journals by subject and subject sub-category.

Springer Link

Data Type: Full text, bibliographic, with abstracts
Format: Internet
Location: URL: http://www.springerlink.com
Access: UserID and password available, ask at Enquiry desk for details

Description: Link is the internet service of the science publisher Springer. The database can be searched or journal articles may be browsed by issue. Subjects are also grouped into Online Libraries, one of which is computer science. Most journals are full-text. Other services within the Link include browsing the content pages of Springer book titles and sample pages from books.


Abstracting and Indexing Resources

Science Citation Index - Expanded (SCI)

Data type: Bibliographic, with abstracts
Format: Internet
Location: URL: http://wok.mimas.ac.uk
Access: Athens personal account

Description: The Science Citation Index is an ISI (Institute for Scientific Information) database. Previously a BIDS service, SCI is now accessed through the Web of Knowledge. The SCI database contains over 17 million journal article bibliographic records, most with abstracts, taken from nearly 6,000 journals dating from 1973 onwards. As the name suggests SCI has a cited reference searching option along with author, title, keyword etc search options. SCI has subject coverage of all branches of science including many titles in computer science.

Computing Reviews

Data Type: Bibliographic, with abstracts
Format: Printed volumes
Holdings: 1980 -
Updated: Monthly
Location: 2nd Floor Reference section
Shelfmark: REF 004.05

Description: Produced by the ACM (The Association for Computing Machinery). Computing Reviews is divided into two sections, the first section contains references and abstracts to books and conference proceedings, the second section covers journal articles. Covers all aspects of computing science.


Reference Material

All reference material is for consultation in the library only. Reference material can be found on the appropriate subject floor of the main library. Computing reference material is located on the 2nd floor of the main library. All reference material has REF prefixing the classification number on the catalogue. Some useful reference books in computing are:

Title  Shelfmark
Computer users yearbook  REF 004
Dictionary of computer and internet words  REF 004
A glossary of computing terms  REF 004
The Hutchinson dictionary of computing and the internet  REF 004
The new Penguin dictionary of computing  REF 004
Dictionary of internetworking terms and acronyms  REF 004.6
Dictionary of PC hardware and data communications terms REF 004.6
Dictionary of object technology REF 005.1
Software users yearbook REF 005.3
Computer graphics dictionary  REF 006.6
Dictionary of multimedia  REF 006.7
McGraw-Hill multimedia encyclopedia of science and Technology  Enquiry desk CD-ROM

Other Sources

Theses and Dissertations

Completed theses in the UK and Ireland are listed, with abstracts, in the Aslib Index to Theses accepted for Higher Degrees. The printed index is held in the 2nd floor reference section, REF 011.7505. The index covers theses published from 1950 onwards and is arranged by subject with author and keyword indexes. Index to Theses is also on the Internet (http://www.theses.com) or via the Library website on the A-Z Databases list from the Resources section. The online version covers 1970 onwards. Theses can be obtained as Inter Library Loans (ILLs). 

The ILL desk is located on the 3rd floor south in the library. Theses and dissertations completed in the University of Paisley are listed on the library catalogue (OPAC) and in print catalogues held at the main counter on the ground floor of the library.

Conferences

New research is often presented as papers read at a conference. These are often published as Conference Proceedings. Conference proceedings are usually published collectively, as a book of the proceedings of a particular conference, or individually as papers in journals. References to conference proceedings can be found in the Index of Conference Proceedings, 2nd floor reference section, REF 060.5. The index is arranged alphabetically by subject area, most entries have a reference and abstract. The Index is produced by the British Library. All the items listed can be borrowed from the British Library through Inter Library Loans.

References and abstracts to conference papers are also available on the Internet via ISI Proceedings. This contains details of over 4000 conferences indexed annually.  ISI Proceedings is accessed through the ISI Web of Knowledge database (http://wok.mimas.ac.uk/) using an Athens account.

Reports

Reports are usually published by the organisation sponsoring or carrying out the work. Reports can be traced in British Reports, Translations and Theses, 2nd floor reference section, class number REF 011.7505.


Internet Sources

Many of the databases and journals already mentioned are available via the Internet. If you wish to do a general Internet search for a topic a list of useful search engines is available via the library website. Useful subject specific Internet resources can also be accessed from the General and Engineering options on the Recommended Internet Sites page on the Library website. Listed below are some relevant sites.

BUBL Link 5:15

Description: BUBL Link 5:15 is a catalogue of Internet resources covering all academic subject areas. Topics are grouped alphabetically and by subject area. Subject area headings include Mathematics and Computing. Within the broad subject headings are more specific subject areas within the discipline eg web page design. Choose one of these subject areas to access the lists of academically evaluated Internet resources.

EEVL (Enhanced and Evaluated Virtual Library)

Description: The EEVL service is a database of sources of engineering, mathematics and computing information on the Internet. Search by topic or browse the subject resources. EEVL was principally an online academic engineering resource which branched out to cover complimentary subject areas such as computing. Subject areas covered include: hardware, information systems, computer methodologies and computer applications. Each of the web sites has been academically evaluated. The service is run by a consortium of Edinburgh library and information services.


Contact

If you have any questions regarding the subject resource guide please contact:

Sean Hamilton tel: 0141 849 4113 
e-mail: hami-li1@paisley.ac.uk

Please note that the Enquiry desk, located in the Electronic Resources area, is staffed at all times. Please do not hesitate to ask for assistance.